September 19, 2020

Julia and Jasper racing at the World Junior Youth Championships

Download PDF

Great excitement this weekend as both Julia and Jasper are competing in Austria!  You can watch this event live via the web video stream (as long as you don’t mind getting up very early in the morning).

Streaming details can be found by following this link.

Here is a report from Chris Lindsay:

Biathlon Parents,

I hope all is well in Canada – because it sounds like the athletes are pumped up for some great racing beginning tomorrow!

 I have added a pdf to the YJWCH Drop Box that is a Mountain Time version of the race schedule. If you are so inclined the web-data broadcast begins early tomorrow morning at 2am Mountain time, 4am Eastern, 5am Atlantic, and 1am Pacific!
 The IBU Website has also announced that the Junior races this weekend will be video streamed! http://www2.biathlonworld.com/en/press_releases.html/do/detail?presse=1809
 A greek Biathlon Fan page that is one of my favourites has posted a Youth-race preview that mentions CAN Stuart Harden!
 I have been hearing from the wax team that the conditions look great and the tracks are excellent. Weather looks slightly on the cold side for Austria (race time temperatures of about -7C) but nothing that our tough Canadian athletes can’t handle. There will be lots of sun this weekend which should make for crisp and fast racing!

Interesting facts:

-The Youth Women field of 91 athletes is the biggest in the past four years. The Youth Men field of 110 athletes is also the biggest in the past four years.

-If the Junior fields are also the biggest in recent history the total number of athlete will approach 350. That is twice the size of an average World Cup, and far larger than the biggest competition held in Canada.

-To give a better understanding of the total size of the field the number of Youth Men is the same as the total number of athletes who participated at North American Cup #3!

-The Town of Obertilliach has a population of about 750…     so with the athletes, staff, officials, volunteers, and spectators the size of the town will have tripled for the duration of the Championships!

 Best wishes to you and your athlete as the competitions begin.
 Chris